How to create digitally accessible content.

logotypes of the project Together We Change Przemyśl

As part of the "Przemyśl(any) System Informacyjny PSI" project, we are organizing a two-day workshop on digital accessibility. Digital accessibility of website content means that its content is designed in a way that is easily accessible to all users, regardless of their abilities, technological tools, or other limitations. Digital accessibility ensures that every user can access information and services available on the website independently and autonomously. During the workshop, participants will have the opportunity to gain knowledge on creating digitally accessible content published on websites, and developing Municipal Digital Accessibility Standards.

Workshops on digital accessibility


What is digital accessibility

Digital accessibility is a feature of systems, websites, applications, electronic devices, and other technologies that enable all users, including people with disabilities and limitations, to use them in an equal and independent manner. Digital accessibility requires providing easy access to information, functionality, and services offered by these technologies. This includes the application of appropriate design standards, programming, and user interfaces that take into account the needs of different groups of users, such as blind, visually impaired, deaf, hard of hearing, cognitive, mobility impaired, or older people. Digital accessibility is important because it enables all users to freely use technology, regardless of their skills and limitations.

Workshops on digital accessibility

What is the WCAG2.1 standard.

WCAG 2.1 standards are international guidelines for digital accessibility developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). WCAG 2.1 stands for Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1. These standards were created to ensure that content published on the Internet is accessible to everyone, regardless of their abilities and limitations.

WCAG 2.1 consists of 13 guidelines divided into three levels: A, AA, and AAA. Each guideline contains recommendations for designing and delivering digital content, such as color contrast, alternative descriptions for images, or text readability. These guidelines apply not only to websites, but also to other digital content, such as PDF documents or mobile applications.

Adapting to WCAG 2.1 standards allows for the creation of more accessible websites and other digital content, making it easier for people with disabilities to use them, as well as all other users. Implementation of WCAG 2.1 standards is recommended and in many countries, it is required by law.

Workshops on digital accessibility

The project entitled "Rethought Information System (PSI)" is implemented as part of the project "Together We Change Przemyśl" financed from external funds, 85% from the Norwegian Financial Mechanism for 2014-2021 and 15% from the state budget under the program Local Development.

Published by: Rafał Porada Publication date: 27-04-2023 09:04 Modified by: Rafał Porada Modified date: 27-04-2023 09:06